If you’re in the service industry or are planning to join the service industry in Oregon, you may be curious to know what minor employees can and can’t do when it comes to alcohol sales and service. If you’re not curious, but need to get an OLCC Permit for your job, you are welcome to do that too!
Before we get started, we’d like to define a couple terms for the purposes of this post:
1) The term “minor” is used to describe anyone between the ages of 18-21
2) The term “on Premises Location” is a location where alcohol is served or sold to be consumed at the establishment (think bars and restaurants).
Okay, let’s begin by going over what minor employees who have an OLCC Permit can and can’t do while working at an “on Premises Location”:
If you’re in the market for a Class 12 MAST Permit or a Class 13 MAST Permit you may have some questions, so we thought we would put a list of some FAQs together for you! If you don’t give a hoot about the FAQs and just want to get your Online MAST Training taken care of, you are welcome to do that too!
For those of you who are still with us, check out some helpful FAQ answers below:
Do I really have to get a MAST Permit? If you serve, mix, or sell alcohol in Washington State, then yes you do. We know it’s not ideal and we know it sucks to have to spend your free time taking a boring course about alcohol laws, BUT we promise our course isn’t so bad. Our founder was a stand-up comedian back in the day, so you can bet there is some humor in our MAST course which will hopefully make it a little more enjoyable for you!
Fiiiiiine, I’ll take the course. I just got hired, when do I have to get my MAST Permit? In Washington State you need to take a MAST Permit Course within 60 days of your hire date.
If you are involved in alcohol transactions or the alcohol industry in Arizona it is possible you will need to complete a Title 4 Course in order to be in compliance with the Arizona DLLC.
If you are an owner or manager of an establishment that holds a liquor license:
The Arizona Department of Liquor Licenses and Control (DLLC) mandates that anyone who owns and/or manages an establishment with a liquor license is required to take a Title 4 Basic Course and a Title 4 Manager Course. We want to note that these are two separate courses! It is imperative to complete both courses and receive a certificate for each course in order to comply with the DLLC’s requirements. It is also imperative to keep your certification current – the Title 4 Manager Certification is valid for 5 years and the Title 4 Basic Course is valid for 3 years.
In addition, it is a DLLC requirement that owners and managers complete both courses before applying for a liquor license – so if you’re planning on applying for a liquor license anytime soon you’ll need to become certified in both courses first!
If you are planning to serve alcohol as a bartender or server OR if you will be supervising individuals who serve alcohol in Utah State at an establishment with an on-premise license (fancy saying for any location that is legally allowed to serve alcohol to a customer who drinks at the establishment – typically bars and restaurants), you will be required to complete and pass a Utah Alcohol Server Training course within 30 days of being hired.
We would also like to note that the Utah Alcohol Server Training course you decide to take MUST be certified by the Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health in order for your certification to be valid!
AACEA Online Alcohol Server Training provides a Utah Alcohol Server Training Course that is approved by the Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health. We guarantee our course will provide you with the education you need to ensure you are serving alcohol in a way that aligns with Utah Liquor Laws while also ensuring that both you and your customers have enjoyable experiences in the process!
If you’re planning to become a bartender, server, or anyone who handles alcohol transactions with customers OR if you will be managing people who handle alcohol transactions with customers in Montana State, you’re going to need to take a Montana Department of Revenue approved Alcohol Server Training course, which is also known as the Responsible Alcohol Sales & Service (RASS) course.
The Montana Department of Revenue requires that you receive training within 60 days of hire and once you complete an Alcohol Server Training course you will receive a Certificate of Course Completion (proof of training) which will be valid for three years. Once your certificate expires you will be required to retake the course in order to remain certified.
If you have already taken your Alcohol Seller Server training course and received your TABC Certification from AACEA, you may want to know how your certification can be revoked. Ideally, we would like to prevent this from happening to you so we have provided you with a few preventative measures below!
Preventative Measure 1: Don’t sell or serve alcohol to a minor or intoxicated person! If you do, you’ll not only have to deal with criminal charges and complaints being held against you, but you’ll also face consequences related to your TABC Certification:
- First Offense: You will have to take the course and exam over again to become recertified within the first 30 days of the offense, otherwise your certificate will be revoked.
- Second Offense: If you receive a second violation within 12 months your certification will be revoked and you will not be able to get recertified for 90 days after the offense. Once the 90 days are up you will be required to retake the course and exam again.
- Thirst Offense: If you receive a third violation within 12 months your certification will be revoked and you will be unable to get recertified for 12 months.
Our AACEA Louisiana course offers a convenient way for you to take your Louisiana Liquor License Test Online and receive a Responsible Vendor permit so you can legally sell and serve alcohol in Louisiana state!
Before you take the course, you may be wondering what your legal responsibilities are as a bartender or alcohol server or seller in Louisiana State.
The two MOST IMPORTANT responsibilities you have are:
- Ensuring customers are not intoxicated before selling or serving them alcohol AND also not serving customers alcohol to the point of intoxication.
- Ensuring customers are 21 years of age or older before selling or serving them alcohol
Several U.S. states require some form of Alcohol Server + Seller Education for anyone and everyone who serves, mixes, or sells alcohol. Washington State officially made this a requirement in 1995 when legislature passed a law requiring that everyone who served alcoholic beverages needed to complete a state certified Mandatory Alcohol Server Training (MAST) course and receive a MAST Permit.
The WSLCB (Washington State Liquor Cannabis Board, formerly known as the Washington State Liquor Control Board), facilitates the MAST program, but private companies (like yours truly) provide the MAST Course and issue MAST Permits to those who need them. Becoming certified as a Washington State MAST Program Provider requires a stamp of approval from the WSLCB which only happens after the WSLCB reviews a course and confirms that it has met each of the MAST Program requirements.
If filling growlers is one of your job responsibilities – whether you work at a restaurant/bar, liquor store, brewery, grocery store, or anywhere else – you will need to take a certified Alcohol Seller/Server Training course to get an Oregon Alcohol Server Permit. This will ensure you are compliant with the Oregon Liquor Control Commission’s (OLCC’s) laws and regulations.
The OLCC defines a growler as a refillable, securely-covered container that is sold to a consumer at retail, can hold up to two gallons or less, and is used to transport beer, wine or cider. If you’re curious about the history of growlers, you can check out a brief history lesson below!
The exact origination of the word “growler” is hard to pinpoint, but there are several theories as to how the term was deemed – it’s up to you to choose the one that resonates most with you! But then again... why can't they all be true?
If you are thinking about becoming a bartender, waitstaff, mixologist, or anything else that requires you to mix, serve, or sell alcohol, you are going to need to take a Department of Revenue approved Montana Alcohol Server Training course to receive a RASS Permit!
R.A.S.S. is an acronym for Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service, which is exactly what our Montana Alcohol Server Certification Course promotes. Because alcohol is an intoxicant, it is important to ensure that it is sold and served in a way that guarantees safety, but also (ideally) in a way that offers a pleasant experience for you and your customers.