If filling growlers is one of your job responsibilities – whether you work at a restaurant/bar, liquor store, brewery, grocery store, or anywhere else – you will need to take a certified Alcohol Seller/Server Training course to get an Oregon Alcohol Server Permit. This will ensure you are compliant with the Oregon Liquor Control Commission’s (OLCC’s) laws and regulations.
The OLCC defines a growler as a refillable, securely-covered container that is sold to a consumer at retail, can hold up to two gallons or less, and is used to transport beer, wine or cider. If you’re curious about the history of growlers, you can check out a brief history lesson below!
The exact origination of the word “growler” is hard to pinpoint, but there are several theories as to how the term was deemed – it’s up to you to choose the one that resonates most with you! But then again... why can't they all be true?
If you need an Oregon Alcohol Service Permit to perform your job, AACEA Oregon provides an online Alcohol Server Education course to help you get it!
Before you sign up for the course, we thought it might be helpful to provide you with some information regarding the two-step process you will need to complete before you can receive your Oregon Alcohol Service Permit!
Take our AACEA Oregon Alcohol Service Permit course online
If you’re curious about Oregon’s Alcohol Laws, we’ve put together a simplified list of must-know alcohol laws below! Please note, however, that some bars and restaurants have their own “house policies” which may be even more strict than the laws mentioned here.
How old do I need to be in Oregon State to bartend?
How old do I need to be in Oregon State to serve alcohol as waitstaff?
How old do I need to be in Oregon State to conduct alcohol tastings?
How old do I need to be in Oregon State to enter a bar?
21The only exception is if you are at least 18 years old and are accompanying a spouse or domestic partner who is at least 21 years old.
If you’re in the service industry or are planning to join the service industry in Oregon, you may be curious to know what minor employees can and can’t do when it comes to alcohol sales and service. If you’re not curious, but need to get an OLCC Permitfor your job, you are welcome to do that too!
Before we get started, we’d like to define a couple terms for the purposes of this post:
1) The term “minor” is used to describe anyone between the ages of 18-21
2) The term “on Premises Location” is a location where alcohol is served or sold to be consumed at the establishment (think bars and restaurants).
Okay, let’s begin by going over what minor employees who have an OLCC Permit can and can’t do while working at an “on Premises Location”:
If you’re planning to open up an establishment that will sell or serve alcohol, you’re going to want to know which Oregon Liquor License will suit your vision best before beginning the application process!
We're putting together a series about various OLCC Liquor Licenses, but in this post we’re going to specifically talk about the Full On-Premises Sales (F) License.
Question:What sort of establishment would a Full On-Premises Sales (F) License be best for?
Answer:Full On-Premises Sales (F) Licenses work well for fine dining restaurants, neighborhood/family restaurants, nightclubs, hotels, and private clubs.
The F license is great for establishments that plan to sell hard liquor (distilled spirits), beer, wine, and cider by the drink for customers to consume within the grounds of the establishment. In other words, this license does not permit your customers to take drinks to go UNLESS your business also has an Off-On-Premises Sales license.
The only two exceptions to this rule are:
- Your customers can take a partially consumed bottle of wine home with them if it was served during their meal.
- Your customers can purchase beer to take home with them as long as it is dispensed in a securely covered container (growler) that the customer provides.
Several U.S. States require some form of Alcohol Server/Seller Training for those who serve or sell alcohol or those who manage individuals who serve or sell alcohol. Alcohol is the nation’s #1 drug problem, so many states have appointed state-specific legal entities with the responsibility of enacting and enforcing alcohol laws in order to reduce alcohol related tragedies – such as drunk driving accidents, alcohol related diseases, fights, etc. The goal here is to increase public safety!
The legal entity that enforces alcohol laws in Oregon State is called the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC). The OLCC mandates that everyone who serves alcohol to some capacity must take a Mandatory Alcohol Server Education course in order to receive an OLCC Permit, also known as a Service Permit.
Are you a wine connoisseur with a dream of opening up your own winery in Oregon State? If so, it’ll be important for you to know which OLCC Liquor License you will need to apply for and receive before you open for business. This will most likely be the Oregon Winery (WY) alcohol license!
We recommend that anyone who plans to open up an establishment that sells or serves alcohol to customers in Oregon State complete an OLCC Approved Oregon Alcohol Service Permit Course in order to receive comprehensive education regarding Oregon Alcohol Laws and to receive an Oregon Alcohol Seller Server Permit in the process.
If you are a restaurant or bar owner, or if you work at a bar or restaurant, you may be curious to know the regulations around customers bringing their own alcohol to your establishment to drink. Alternatively, you may be a customer who is hoping to bring your favorite bottle of beer or wine to a bar or restaurant to share with your friends. We’ve provided some helpful information around this topic for establishment owners, servers, bartenders, and customers below!
Before we dive into the world of customers bringing their own alcohol to an establishment, we would like to recommend that anyone who plans to open (or work at) an establishment that sells alcohol to customers in Oregon State complete an OLCC Approved OLCC Permit Alcohol Server Education Course in order to receive comprehensive education regarding Oregon Alcohol Laws and to receive an Oregon Alcohol Seller Server Permit in the process!
Now back to the topic at hand. Let’s look at some Q&As!
Q: Can customers legally bring their own alcohol to an Oregon liquor licensed establishment to drink on the premises?
A: Yes! But customers are only permitted to bring a style of alcohol (beer, wine, hard liquor, etc.) that is sold or served at that establishment. In other words, the type of alcohol a customer is allowed to bring into an establishment is dependent on the type of liquor license the establishment has. For example, a customer could bring a bottle of wine into a restaurant that has a license which allows them to sell or serve wine. Note: The bottle of wine a customer brings in cannot contain more than 21% of alcohol by volume, but the wine can originate from anywhere! In other words, customers are not limited to only bringing in wine that is from Oregon State.
Q: Do all liquor licensed establishments allow customers to bring alcohol into their establishment?
If you currently own or are planning to open up a supermarket, grocery store, or convenience store in Oregon State and intend to sell alcohol at your establishment, you are going to need to apply for and receive an OLCC Liquor License. Specifically, you will need the Off-Premises Sales (O) OLCC Liquor License.
We recommend that anyone who plans to open (or work at) an establishment that sells alcohol to customers in Oregon State complete an OLCC Approved OLCC Permit Alcohol Server Education Course
in order to receive comprehensive education regarding Oregon Alcohol Laws and to receive an Oregon Alcohol Seller Server Permit in the process!
Now for some Q&A’s regarding the Off-Premises Sales (O) Oregon Liquor License: Q: What alcoholic beverages does the Off-Premises Sales (O) Oregon Liquor License allow you to sell at your establishment?
A: Establishments with an Off-Premises Sales Oregon Liquor License are permitted to sell beer, wine, and cider in factory-sealed containers.
If you have a dream of owning a brewery in Oregon State, you are going to need to apply for (and receive) an OLCC Liquor License before you can legally produce, sell, and serve beer at your establishment.
The best Oregon Liquor License for you to apply for and obtain before opening up your brewery will likely be the Brewery-Public House (BP) Oregon Liquor License.
Before we go any further, we would like to recommend that anyone who plans to open up an establishment that sells or serves alcohol in Oregon State complete an OLCC Approved Oregon Alcohol Server Education Course in order to receive comprehensive education regarding Oregon Alcohol Laws and to receive an Oregon Alcohol Service Permit.
In order to legally offer alcohol sales and service in Oregon State it is a requirement to first apply for and receive an OLCC Liquor License.
In a previous blog post we discussed the features and requirements to obtain a Full On-Premises Sales (F) License for your establishment. In this post we will go over the features and eligibility requirements of the Limited On-Premises Sales (L) License.
What does the Limited On-Premises Sales (L) License allow?
Unlike the Full On-Premises Sales (F) License which allows the sale and service of all alcoholic beverages, the (L) license only allows the sale and service of beer, wine, and cider. The key word here is limited because establishments with an OLCC (L) Liquor License are limited in what they can sell or serve by not being permitted to sell or serve liquor.