Online Alcohol Server Training

Choose Your State

Utah Alcohol Laws: Utah State Restaurant Liquor Licenses – Which Liquor License Should You Apply for?

If you’re hoping to open up a restaurant in Utah State and plan to serve or sell alcohol for your customers to consume with their meals, you are going to need to apply for a Restaurant Liquor License. We have listed the three variations of Utah Restaurant Liquor Licenses below to help you determine which Utah Liquor License you should apply for!

Additionally, we recommend completing a Utah Dept. of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) approved Utah Alcohol Server Training Course to receive more comprehensive information regarding Utah’s Alcohol Selling and Serving laws!

There are three distinct types of Restaurant Liquor Licenses in Utah State:

The Utah Full-Service Restaurant Liquor License:

The Utah Full-Service Restaurant liquor license allows restaurants to serve liquor, wine, and heavy beer to customers who wish to drink an alcoholic beverage with their meal.

Additionally, there are several rules and requirements that Full-Service Restaurant Liquor License holders are required to adhere to, many of which we’ve listed below:

  • Only customers who order food that is prepared, sold, and served at your restaurant may be served an alcoholic beverage to drink alongside their meal
  • At least 70% of your restaurant’s business must come from the sale of food (wines costing more than $250 per bottle can be excluded from your establishment’s food to alcohol ratio)
  • Liquor, wine, and heavy beer (exceeding 3.2% ABV) can be served between the hours of 11:30 AM-midnight
  • Light beer (with less than 3.2% ABV) can be served between the hours of 11:30 AM-1 AM
  • Customers are required to finish consuming their alcoholic beverage within an hour of their beverage’s ending sales time
  • Mixed drinks cannot have more than 1.5 ounces of primary liquor (which must be dispensed though an approved calibrated metered dispensing system/device)
  • Mixed drinks cannot have more than 2.5 ounces of spirituous liquor in total (including the primary and flavorings)
  • For parties of four or more, wine can be served in a bottle or container that does not exceed 1.5 liters
  • For parties with less than four customers, wine can be served in a bottle or container that does not exceed 750 ml
  • An individual pouring of wine cannot exceed 5 ounces
  • A group of two or more customers can be served a pitcher of beer (not exceeding two liters)
  • An individual customer can be served a maximum of one liter of beer per serving
  • No more than two beer or wine beverages can be before a customer at any one time
  • Only one spirituous liquor beverage can be before a customer at any one time

The Utah Limited-Service Restaurant Liquor License:

The Utah Limited-Service Restaurant liquor license permits restaurants to sell or serve wine, heavy beer, and light beer alongside a customer’s meal. There are several rules and requirements that Limited-Service Restaurant Liquor License holders need to adhere to, several of which we’ve listed below:

  • Only customers who order food that is prepared, sold, and served at your restaurant may be served or sold an alcoholic beverage to be consumed alongside their meal
  • At least 70% of your restaurant’s business must come from the sale of food (wines costing more than $250 per bottle can be excluded from your establishment’s food to alcohol ratio)
  • Wine and heavy beer (exceeding 3.2% ABV) can be served between the hours of 11:30 AM-midnight
  • Light beer (with less than 3.2% ABV) can be served between the hours of 11:30 AM-1 AM
  • For parties of four or more, wine can be served in a bottle or container that does not exceed 1.5 liters
  • For parties with less than four customers, wine can be served in a bottle or container that does not exceed 750 ml
  • An individual pouring of wine cannot exceed 5 ounces
  • A group of two or more customers can be served a pitcher of beer (not exceeding two liters)
  • An individual customer can be served a maximum of one liter of beer per serving
  • No more than two beer or wine beverages can be before a customer at any one time

The Utah Beer Only Restaurant Liquor License:

The Utah Beer Only Restaurant liquor license permits restaurants to serve light beer (not exceeding 3.2% ABV) alongside a customer’s meal. There are several rules and requirements that Beer Only Restaurant Liquor License holders need to adhere to, several of which we’ve listed below:

  • Only customers who order food that is prepared, sold, and served at your restaurant may be served beer to accompany their order
  • At least 70% of your restaurant’s business must come from the sale of food
  • Beer can be sold and served between 11:30 AM-1 AM
  • Customers are required to finish consuming their beer by 2 AM
  • You are not permitted to sell beer at a discounted price under any circumstance
  • Beer can only be served to customers who are at a table, grandfathered bar structure or counter where food is being served
  • A customer can have a maximum of two beers in front of them at any time

These are the three different styles of Restaurant Liquor Licenses offered in Utah State. We hope this has helped you to determine which liquor license will suit your restaurant best!

If you’re hoping to learn more about Utah’s Alcohol Selling and Serving laws, we welcome you to check out our Utah Dept. of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) approved Online Utah Alcohol Server Training Course whenever and wherever is most convenient for you!

Cheers, and Happy Training!

Tags: Utah

Louisiana Bar Card and Washington State MAST permit. Arizona Title 4 Basic Training Online AZ DLLC Alcohol Server Approved Certification Course California Responsible Beverage Service RBS TIPS Certificate Program On Off Premises ABC Florida Vendor State Compliant Montana Ohio Seller For Sellers Servers Bartenders and Managers Get your TABC Certification for selling serving alcohol in Texas Your official can be printed online upon completion Utah Mobile Friendly valid Bartender School on off premise server training permit classes by Len Riggs

© 2016 America's Alcohol Certified Education Association All Rights Reserved
www.aacea.com | Email Us | TF: 888.865.1900 | P: 425.335.3672