Online Alcohol Server Training

Choose Your State

AACEA Montana: Bartenders And Servers - Using Montana Alcohol Laws & DUI Facts As Leverage To Cut Someone Off

If you are a bartender or server, or if you plan to become a bartender or server in Montana State, you are likely going to need to cut off a person or two at some point during your career. There are several strategies out there that can help you effectively cut off a person from drinking alcohol, many of which you can learn about in our Online MT Alcohol Permit course. If you’ve already completed a Montana Department of Revenue approved Alcohol Server Training Course and are simply hoping to further your skillset for cutting people off, we have provided some helpful information for you below!

The most important responsibility you have as someone who is involved in alcohol transactions is ensuring public safety. This means making sure your customers do not go over their limit or reach a point of intoxication. It also means that if one of your customers does become intoxicated (either at your establishment or before reaching your establishment), it is your responsibility to make sure they do not get behind the wheel of a car or get themselves into any sort of precarious situation.

We know this sounds like a huge responsibility and burden, especially because nobody enjoys being cut off, and who enjoys cutting people off? Our hope is to empower servers and bartenders with knowledge and strategies to help make this process a little smoother, and to ensure it does not have a negative impact on customer experiences (or on your tips!).

One such strategy is to understand Montana’s DUI laws and various DUI facts & figures, so you can communicate this information to a customer who may insist on leaving your establishment while intoxicated.

There are a few Montana DUI related laws that will be helpful for you to know:

1) Basic DUI Violation: Driving While Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs

  • The only thing an officer needs in order to charge you with a DUI is evidence that your ability to drive safely has been diminished by alcohol or drugs, regardless of your BAC level. In other words, you can still get a DUI even if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is under .08 if the officer determines you are not well suited for driving.

2) A BAC Violation

  • The only thing an officer needs in order to charge you with a BAC violation is proof that you have a BAC of .08 or higher. In other words, you can still be charged with a BAC Violation even if you don’t show visual proof of impairment.

3) Driving a Commercial Vehicle (aka, a company vehicle) with a BAC of .04 or higher

  • In other words, a BAC of .04 is enough to be charged with this variation of a DUI if you are driving a commercial vehicle, regardless of visual proof of impairment.

4) Committing an Aggravated DUI

  • You can be charged with an aggravated DUI if you have a BAC of .16 or higher, if you are already subject to ignition interlock, if you are driving on a suspended license, if you have refused to take a chemical test in the past, or if you have received a DUI or BAC conviction in the past.

Here are some additional valuable stats you can point out to your customers:

  • The average DUI or BAC conviction costs approximately $10,000.00 – think about what you could get with that $10,000.00! Perhaps you could even come up with a light hearted joke, such as: “that’s enough to buy 5,000 beers during happy hour!”.
  • There are approximately 10-11K DUIs issued per year in Montana State! That amounts to $110,000,000.00 (110 million dollars!). Let’s not add to that pot by driving while even slightly impaired!

There you have it! We hope this information will provide you with some helpful leverage to use when cutting off customers who are intoxicated or who insist on ordering enough drinks that they will likely become intoxicated!

If you’re hoping to learn more, or if you would like to take a Responsible Alcohol Seller Training Course in order to receive your MT Alcohol Permit, we welcome you to check out our Montana Online Alcohol Server Training Course wherever and whenever is most convenient for you!

Cheers, and Happy Training!

Tags: Montana

Louisiana Bar Card and Washington State MAST permit. Arizona Title 4 Basic Training Online AZ DLLC Alcohol Server Approved Certification Course California Responsible Beverage Service RBS TIPS Certificate Program On Off Premises ABC Florida Vendor State Compliant Montana Ohio Seller For Sellers Servers Bartenders and Managers Get your TABC Certification for selling serving alcohol in Texas Your official can be printed online upon completion Utah Mobile Friendly valid Bartender School on off premise server training permit classes by Len Riggs

© 2016 America's Alcohol Certified Education Association All Rights Reserved
www.aacea.com | Email Us | TF: 888.865.1900 | P: 425.335.3672